Location, location location

Another house is on the market up the street, and the For Sale sign bears the name of a prominent managing agent for a large northwestern real estate company whose name begins with “W”. I think you know the one I mean. That woman is the same managing agent who, based on the fact that her children went to the same school as my landlords’ kids, called them on the phone about six to nine months before the mobbing started, telling them it was my fault that an offer fell through on the house of a developer  she was representing. The managing agent, someone I’ve never met, spoke of damages and civil suits for valuation. Less than a year later, the real estate mobbing began after an offer on my home was tendered by that same developer and rejected by my landlords.

That developer seems to have bought another house instead, one that languished on the market for some time after the Great Recession. Likely that house was purchased by the developer for less than the owner wanted when it couldn’t be sold. It’s now being rebuilt just up the street from the latest house that has been put up for sale.

In the last few years, probably more than 50 percent of the homes in this neighborhood have changed hands, been rebuilt, or been built anew. And for the last two years, I’ve been the target of an criminal attempt to harass me out of my home using techniques I’ve come to understand as real estate mobbing, an effort in which I am the target of constant harassing sound and voice that appears to come from the houses on either side of me. My landlords and I have no argument with one another and they do not wish to sell their home. I am a middle-aged woman who faithfully pays my rent and tends my home in a manner I have been told is comparable to a homeowner. Yet I am constantly demanded by obvious criminal real estate speculators or tenant clearers working from the houses around me and supported by an obviously corrupt neighborhood watch, to “Get out!” and “Move on!”

The real estate company whose name begins with “W” seems to be doing a lot of deal-making in my neighborhood. For Sale signs with the name of the same managing agent or one of her subordinates have been all over this hill, in front of houses being flipped and in front of lots being parceled out for sale despite the steep  and fragile terrain of this hillside area over Lake Washington with its tendency to landslides. And this agent is not the only real estate agent who has tried to cause problems for me, an apparent strategy to get the owners of my house to put it on the housing market where the food chain of investors, builders, real estate agents and other speculators can all take their cut as they push up the prices of homes in my neighborhood and make them evermore unaffordable for the 99 percent of us.

One of the agents that woman manages, whose name has also been displayed on numerous For Sale signs in the neighborhood and who brokered the deal on at least one of the mobbing houses to the new owners, sent an email to my landlords that I have in my possession and have passed along to the City of Seattle. I realize I should also send a copy of it to the Better Business Bureau; hopefully I’ll get around to that this week.

That email informed my landlords that the real estate company intended to put the house with the failed offer back on the market, the one they’d attempted to say could not be sold because of me. It threatened to get an order to stop me from talking about that house or talking to any potential buyer. That was pretty amusing, because the one time I’d talked to the couple who put an offer on that house, they had approached me after witnessing the inopportune appearance of Seattle Parking Enforcement as they stood outside the house they’d put an offer on. Parking Enforcement had likely showed up at the behest of the neighborhood watch or the seller’s own real estate agents, to chalk my legally parked vehicles once again. Not to mention the fact that the offer seemed to fall apart soon after the day of the property inspection, an event obvious because of the inspector’s marked truck in the driveway of the house to be sold, as well as by the attendance of sellers and buyers. The couple considering the house had asked me, after exchanging pleasantries, whether I was being harassed by the builder of the house they’d put an offer on; because of the intimidation and the threats to my landlords of valuation law suits, I had declined to answer. But if I were investigating this matter, I would look at the documents on the offer, if they still exist, find the couple who made the alleged failed offer, and ask them why the offer fell through. Because I seriously doubt it was because, as the developer later claimed in a letter to the court, the prospective buyers had said that I was a “true psychopath.”

The email from the real estate agent went on to tell my landlords that I claimed, oddly enough, to hear harassment on my speakers. This letter was sent right after the weekend when I saw that subordinate real estate agent talking to the owner of the one of the mobbing houses. The same agent had tried to flag me down and bothered me numerous times in the past, likely attempting to pressure me into parking where she and her client wanted me to park and to otherwise make me feel uncomfortable in my own neighborhood.

It’s likely that the house I live in has always been the target and that I am viewed as an obstacle to the “turning over” of this house, something like those “reluctant sellers” that the “badass” and “gangsta” members of the propertymob.com site complain about, but with nary a title to grab nor the resources to discourage a mobbing, I am just a renter who’s making it too easy for those damned “reluctant sellers” to hold their property despite a climate of greed.

The email was sent the same weekend that this mobbing house owner came out onto his veranda and made a pretense of working on his house while listening to what I would tell police after he had called them and complained that I was listening to music outside. This event took place in the daytime, during hours that were not quiet hours; in other words, it was probably not an infraction. This owner, by the way, had been quick to install and use speakers outdoors after moving into his residence; I have no installed outdoor speakers.

Accosting legal residents on the street and calling and sending their landlords defamatory email seems like rather unprofessional behavior for real estate agents and, in my case, reveals the entrance by real estate agents into the neighborhood bullying campaign. This type of conduct by professionals whose interest is driven by money is a pretty good indicator of a racket.

A few days later, unfortunately before I received information from my public disclosure request to Seattle Police Department that the owner of that mobbing house who stood out on his veranda listening to my conversation with police was the same person who had made the complaint to police, that owner asked me at the anti-harassment hearing I had brought against him as well as the owner of the other mobbing house, if it was true that I told police I heard harassment on my speakers.

Of course all this was before I found the recipe on the Internet you can use to do just that: Pair Citizen’s Band radio with a linear antenna to put whatever noise you want on your neighbors’ speakers.

It was pretty obvious where the owner of that mobbing house wanted that line of questioning to go, and when I admitted that I had told the police that I do hear harassment on my speakers, the judge did exactly what these people wanted. The judge immediately dismissed my petition for an order for anti-harassment. Apparently, having neighbors who use technology to pipe harassment into the houses of their victims, especially neighbors who appear to be criminal real estate speculators, means that the victims have developed sudden cases of paranoid schizophrenia, cases that will undoubtedly pass as soon as they give the scumbucket mobbers what they want.

At that time, when I finally tried to get anti-harassment orders against the owners of the mobbing houses, I had endured the mobbing for one year.

Months later, the same subordinate real estate agent approached me in the street to ask for a hammer to secure her For Sale sign on the house the developer built but had held off the market for more than a year while blaming me for lack of a sale. When I confronted her about the email to my landlords, she denied having written it and said that her client—the owner and relative of the developer—may have done so. But the email clearly came from her own email address.

I did not lend her a hammer.

The house sold quickly when they finally put it on the market again. The new buyer told me recently that he’d heard the offer that fell through failed because the couple buying it had decided to move to Portland instead.

When legal residents of any neighborhood are harassed by real estate agents, real estate speculators or tenant clearers working for them, real estate speculation is out of control and has become racketeering. Situations such as mine beg the question of whether real estate companies have a business strategy of harassing tenants and might even contract with harassers to turn over properties for speculation or knowingly broker deals to sell to criminal real estate speculators who make harassment part of their investment strategy. Real estate mobbing is by definition an organized crime and a racket.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

