A day in a mobbing

I hoped that my recent post, My neighborhood has a problem with bullying, might finally do the trick and arouse the interest of the Seattle City Attorney in looking into racketeering in my northeastern neighborhood in Seattle, Washington. This post made clear that the same person standing at the side of Mayor Murray as he signed documents to return the NE 130th “park” on the lakeside lane of Riviera Place NE to public hands—Sandra Motzer—authored an email that was sent to other members of her neighborhood watch—Lee Mozena, John Clark, husband Tim Motzer—as well as to two developers working the neighborhood, the owners of houses north and south of a tenant who would later attempt to get anti-harassment orders and, curiously, Office Kipp Strong of the Seattle North Precinct Community Policing Team (CPT). This email written by Sandra Motzer, the chair of a Lake City committee weighing in on Mayor Murray’s plan on housing for the homeless, spoke openly of using Seattle parking and zoning codes to compel the occupants of two rental houses to leave her neighborhood. For excerpts from Sandra Motzer’s email, see the blog. The My Neighborhood entry also contains other bedtime stories from the same cozy neighborhood, including one in which a renter is publicly though only symbolically flogged by a placard of more than 3′ by 8′ (likely exceeding the maximum dimensions permitted signage in a residential zone) demanding her to stop using legal security cameras to protect herself.

I’m still hoping that the My neighborhood blog, together with blogs like Flying the friendly skies, an entry that details being harassed by real estate mobbers in secure areas of airports like Seattle-Tacoma and on the Boeing 737 (an aircraft well afforded with an in-flight entertainment (IFE) wireless network), have started the City of Seattle and hopefully the FBI poking around into what is almost certainly an organized ring of tenant “clearers” or criminal real estate speculators. In the first scenario, the tenant clearers are paid to bully on behalf of developers, real estate speculators or a nasty neighborhood watch willing to host them in the neighborhood; in the second scenario criminal real estate speculators profit off of bullying to “clear” and “turn over” property for their own speculative purposes.

Real estate mobbing is a crime acknowledged by Amnesty International and the United Nations. My contention is that it occurs in the United States much more than we recognize. This is why I write and why I will continue to do so. There is much more I must write to document and expose this ongoing crime so that it is less likely to befall others and so that those who are doing it to me are not only apprehended, but can be successfully charged and convicted.

Let’s get these scumbucket real estate mobbers off to prison. This blog takes the Greek letter Lambda as a glyph, a character used in the emblem of the American Criminal Justice Association for the Greek word Lambano, to detect and apprehend.

Λ

Let me tell you about my recent life in my legal rental home in this northeastern neighborhood of Seattle. Part of the mission of this blog is to document the crime as it is ongoing so that investigators who read it can get the information they need without giving the criminals the heads up that they’re investigating. After all, these people are working from houses to my north and south, and I am being monitored.

Why would they invest such resources in the forced eviction of one person? I suspect that mobbing doesn’t usually go on for two years but once the mobbers or those who use them are exposed, they attempt to cure their vast liability by harassing the victim to finally give in, after which they can discredit them further or sue them for defamation and perhaps coerce them into recanting the reports they’ve made to police. In most cases, it’s likely that the minute a mobbing victim believes that he or she is being watched in bed or in the bathroom, they leave, and they probably assume that their landlords are the harassers. One of the mobbers boasted that some people feel so uncomfortable about expressing their sexuality while they are being monitored that they quickly abandon their legal home. So document I must. Because, as Bettye LaVette says, “I’ve got my own hell to raise.”

In my last twenty-four hours I’ve been harassed in bed, in the bathroom, in the kitchen, while writing this blog, while swimming, driving, listening to the radio, watching TV and walking to and from my car. All this while cars have come and gone, especially from the mobbing house to my south. I see less of the ingress and egress to and from the mobbing house to the north than I used to since some decent people moved in across the street from them so they no longer use their parking. A hedge and the siting of that house also gives me less visibility into their comings and goings.

As is customary, the harassment travels with me, whether I am walking from room to room in my own home, driving down the street, or shopping at Whole Foods. The character of the harassment, however, does vary based on my location and accessibility to the mobbers. A basic tenet here is that if someone is close to me in public, the harassment ceases. If a police car or a car that might have a radio is close to me in traffic, the harassment pauses. If the mobbers’ access to me using one means of harassment is closed, there is a pause as they move to a different form of harassment. Mobbing is a mix-and-match methodology, mixing in part to confuse and in part to create a continuous stream of harassment with the minimum amount of glitching between source and delivery and broken only by changes in mobbing staffing and their competencies.

Λ

So far as I’ve come to understand them, the primary forms of harassment are enabled using radio and projective technologies. Radio may include software-defined radio running on a computer and on the application layer of the OSI (Open Systems Interconnect) Model, a model that specifies the relationship between network layers. The use of software-defined radio is significant because it provides easy access to sound applications used to mix and play sound as well as the network layers used to transmit information across the Internet. According to one of the RadioReference.com forums, the use of software-defined radio is something that hackers are highly interested in and the use of software-defined radio in mobbing should be a strong indicator of a hacking in real estate mobbing, even if that hacking is limited to lurking, listening, and accessing applications and speakers to monitor and harass. There are increasing hacks that involve the use of radio signals.

With real estate mobbers who live nearby, especially if they have access to a shared neighborhood hot spot, live within range of their victim’s wireless network or set up wireless services that extend the range of their own wireless network over the victim’s home, the use of a packet sniffer to silently read browser traffic is an easy add-on. And with mobbers closer to the victim than the nearest cell tower or satellite, the lack of protections on cell phones against IMSI catchers makes the victim a sitting duck for the interception of all his or her calls.

Regardless of whether the TV is over traditional coaxial cable, broadband or fiberoptic connection, the proliferation of wireless and streaming TV provides no lack of entry points to mobbers who hack the signal and overlay your communications and entertainment services with a continual stream of babbling harassment. The Internet gives recipes for common hacks using Citizens Band (CB) radio with a linear antenna to put sound or voice over the victim’s speakers.

This is only a quick look at what is enabled over the radio bands that encompass AM and FM, UHF, WiFi, and cellular devices.

The projective means of harassment and monitoring include parametric speakers which are directional to the point where they can isolate a single individual to hear a message; advertisers are starting to use them as gimmicks in stores to get listeners to stand in a spot and listen to their spot (https://holosonics.com/content/27applications), shotgun microphones, parabolic microphones (http://www.videomaker.com/article/f20/17144-how-to-build-a-parabolic-mic-dish); and laser microphones can be made at home (http://www.instructables.com/id/LASER-MICROPHONE/). These links show how mobbers can amass and hide an arsenal of eavesdropping equipment, making much of it themselves from ordinary household objects to avoid suspicion. Indeed, a lampshade or umbrella can function as the dish for a parabolic microphone. These projective means, which are often based on the physical properties of sound, enable the use of surface harassment on window panes or listening through window panes without detection by potential witnesses.

Now, on to a typical timeline of the harassment I’ve lived in, at the hands of real estate mobbers who demand night and day that I “Move on!” or “Get out!”, for going on two years.

Λ

Midnight: Knowing that the mobbers do their best to ensure that I cannot sleep, I wait until I am exhausted and falling asleep on the living room couch before going to bed. I confess that a 12oz. bottle of Evil Twins’ Lil B is the sleeping aid of choice for victims of mobbing, at least it is for this victim. Decant it into a fine glass and drink up! I recommend a pairing with a square of 70% dark chocolate. (I hope to make a career of making plugs for Evil Twins after the scumbucket mobbers are arrested. It seems unlikely that Microsoft is going to give me another contract after getting rid of me when I tried to warn them there was a bot on my machine. Oh, Microsoft Security, I hear voices on my machine! Really! As of late, I’ve been attending a few security presentations and have learned that root kits—real ones—are seldom packaged as device drivers in system (.sys) files these days. That could have saved me a lot of time trying to find .sys files with recent timestamps on my laptop back when the mobbing kicked off with the bot hoax. No matter. It’s no great loss. There are a lot of employers who pay quite a bit more for work that is more interesting.)

Preparation for sleep includes stacking layer upon layer of sound board against the windows in my bedroom. Lately I use the poorly written brief of the attorney pal of one of the owners of the mobbing houses to shim up a board for a tighter fit in one of my windows. I’ve also realized that it’s best to vary the pattern used to stack the boards in the windows. If done well, I have time to fall asleep before they figure out how to project the sound “beam” and adequately amplify the volume of what is probably a directional speaker to access any scrap of the window pane left uncovered. If I stack the soundboard amply and well, their babble is reduced to a murmur when I draw back the covers.

My bedside clock radio was destroyed early in the mobbing when a friend and I took it apart to try to find any bugging devices that might have been secreted inside. Of course, there were none. So there’s no radio in the bedroom they can use to transmit radio-based harassment onto. And my cell phone, which is probably nowhere near the bedroom, is turned off with cellular and wireless signals disabled. What’s out of my control is whether any roommate who is out has left a radio, TV or computer turned on and accessible. As I can, I turn off the wireless router before bed to at least make it harder for the mobbers to jump on that. Did I mention, by the way, that I’ve never been arrested and that I am a legal resident of this neighborhood with a contract to lease my home here?

The next hurdle for a side sleeper like me is to find a comfortable position in which the pillow supports my head without my ear touching the pillow since sound appears to be transferred to my pillow using vibration and they may be counting on bone conduction to ensure that, sooner or later, I have to sleep while they continue what is likely and legally torture. For a blog entry explaining the use of bone conduction, see Mobbing close to the bone.

3:00 am: At the outset of the mobbing, they did not continuously harass. Now they do, night and day. I’ve been woken up at 3:00 am several times lately. It’s difficult to wake people from a sound sleep, especially when they’re tired. They use some Foley tricks from time to time to do this, for example, they’ll project loud crashes or create a din of directional sound that only I can hear.Another element that makes clear theirs are well practiced techniques and that they are likely professionals or that they engage in serial forced evictions.

They seem to confirm that I am awake by the sound of my breathing, whether I swallow and whether I turn in a manner that people who are asleep do not. Early on, at the opening of the mobbing, they seemed to be observing when I was in REM sleep. I do not know how they would know that if they could not see the rapid eye movement; this and other indications of their awareness of my body position have long tended to make me assume they use infrared or some method to at least roughly see body position.

They complain when, as of late, I cover my head with a sheet, which seems to dim the harassment for some reason. I move the pillow away from my ear to quiet the harassment and attempt to go back to sleep. If they’ve defeated the sound board, sometimes I still try to use one ear plug in one ear or another.

Lately I’m finding that depending on the window I face, which is determined by which side I sleep on, things can be much more quiet. If none of this works and I’m too upset by the disturbance to sleep, I sometimes just get up and try sleeping on the couch with the cat. The mobbers have less privacy at the front of the house and may not be able to elevate the volume of the harassment as safely as they can at the back of the house. Either that or there may be someone sleeping in the front bedrooms of the houses that they don’t want to wake. This could be true since, to my knowledge, the owners of both houses have master bedrooms facing the lake. Either way, there have been numerous days when I’ve eventually been able to fall asleep for another hour or two in the living room of my small home.

5:00 am: The hours from 5:00 am to 7:00 am have been hours of high activity for the mobbers since the opening of the mob. Interestingly, these hours correspond with the eventual departure of at least a few of those who live or stay in the mobbing houses, ostensibly for work. Again, the techniques used in this time period are projective for the most part. It is rare for any useful devices to be turned on in my home during these hours. Depending on what they’re up for, those staying in the mobbing house to the north may creating noise in the backyard by dragging trash cans back and forth; similarly, those in the south mobbing house indulge in the same behavior, sometimes in concert with the captain of the neighborhood watch who lives across the street. Before they started projecting the harassment into the house, these early morning exterior disturbances were pretty common.

8:00 am: I rise, and as my activities move from the bedroom into the living areas of the house, the mobbers’ activity follows. As I walk past windows in the kitchen, bits of surface harassment are flung at me, as I open the refrigerator door, what is likely ventilation harassment hitting the half-light of the kitchen door transmits insults about my body and demands that I “Get out!” or “Give us the bot!”

The “bot” demand was established early in the mobbing with the bot hoax that led to my losing my contract at Microsoft; its constant reiteration is likely supposed to remind me and make me feel humiliated. This is part of their pop psychology approach to trying to get a legal tenant to leave a home she has a contract to lease.

When I stand at the sink to rinse out the French press and wash some mushrooms and onions for scrambled eggs, they wail on me. If I’m alone in the house, these days I might go to the bedroom and get a piece of sound board and stick it in the window to put an obstacle between them and me.

Probably from decks that protrude past the facade of my own smaller home, they project voice harassment or maybe garbled TV onto the surfaces of my own windows that provide my modest view of Lake Washington. If it’s not too cold or wet, I unlatch one of them and break the surface. The harassment is momentarily quieted, then they jump back onto another window, a gap or a crack.

I go to the bathroom and they babble as I urinate. When they decided to increase the level of their game and began talking while I sat on the pot, they would go on about being able to smell me from “here.” (I note for any investigative authorities picking up the scent, that the bathroom I use is on the north side of the house.) They also like to critique the technique I use to wipe myself and if the toilet happens to clog they fall over laughing, but that’s nothing new. Part of mobbing seems to be to make continual comment on everything the victim is doing. It may be in part a way to fill silence with abuse, but may also be used to remind the victim of the extreme loss of privacy.

These days, if I acknowledge the mobbers, it’s usually by flicking my forefinger across the pad of my thumb, flicking them off like a gnat. I used to go on at length about how they were going to prison, comparing them to the Stasi, the Nazis, the KKK, and to fascists in general, but mobbers love getting you exercised. The more they can exercise and stress you, the more you listen and engage with them, the more likely they are to be able to manipulate you or otherwise exhaust you to the point where you’ll acquiesce to their demands to leave a home you love, and then they can lowball your landlords into submission too.

9:00 am: I step into the shower. More projected insults about my body and demands that I leave my home. I ignore them and hope the hot water lasts. The mobbers ignore my ignoring them and continue on, talking about my breasts and which one is bigger than the other, then they talk about the order in which I wash my genitalia and anus and about how I touch myself as I wash. Rub-a-dub-dub, the mobbers are in my tub!

Early on, they used to talk about the shower cam they said they had put on the Internet of me. But I would never find it, they said. For a time, they dropped the threats of potty cams and shower cams. Maybe this was after I told my landlords that the neighbors were saying they’d put cameras in my bathroom. But when I refused to move they would bring back the threats, as though to “manage” me somehow. “We’re turning your potty cam on again,” they would warn. “Great,” I would respond. “Just send a copy to the FBI.”

This was one of the hoaxes that eventually allowed me to catch on to the fact that mobbers don’t really want to carry out the threats, they just want you to believe them, and to act on them by fleeing your legal home. Mobbers who don’t want to expose the people they work for or to expose themselves don’t carry out these threats because it would mean creating evidence that could be used to prove a crime. Remember, mobbing is the “white glove” method of tenant clearing. I sit down in the tub and let the hot water fill the basin.

Recently it occurred to me that the shower doors themselves provide a surface to receive harassment and I’ve found that opening one of them can quiet it. Today I think about whether I might be able to quiet the sound further if I slink down into the cast iron tub. It seems to help a bit. The hot water exhausted, I drain it and grab a towel. The bathroom is small and with a narrow path running from the entry to the window, it’s impossible to evade the harassment. I’m glad for the clatter of the fan that I use to dissipate the steam as I slather on the body lotion, pull on my clothes, and then leave the room.

The mobbers catch up to me in the kitchen, hitting the windows over the kitchen sink as I pour coffee from the French press on the stove that is a straight line from the window. I knock it back and grab the blow dryer from the bedroom; they put fit and finish on the harassment that the hairdryer somehow picks up as I move it around my skull. I pick up my coffee and sit at the computer.

They’d like to jump onto the speakers of the computer, but I don’t use the wireless. That wouldn’t stop them but what makes it no longer worth the trouble is more likely that I keep system sound volume off and don’t hesitate to plug a headset into the jack if I hear them on it. Not like the start of the mobbing, when they were all over the speakers of the Windows laptops I thought they must have put root kits or other malware on to create back door access. Since then, they use the cell phones of others, the wireless networks of the buildings I walk by, the public address systems and wireless speakers of the buildings I’m in. Since then, much of the time they use the devices of people who have no idea what mobbing is or what it sounds like, people who don’t know I’m being mobbed.

10:00 am: I work on the computer, and they work on me. My powers of concentration have increased over the duration of the mobbing, at least they seem to have on a good day when I ignore the mobbing to the extent that they seem to go quiet, or when they’re quiet because they’re watching me write and, it seems, what I’m writing. If it’s not such a good day, little by little, increasing layers of sound board move from the bedroom to the living areas of the house so that I can work.

They have to use projective sound for this scenario. Unless of course they’re bathing my house in radio waves from both sides using an array of directional speakers or some dipole system that runs from north house to south house and conveniently through my own. I rarely listen to John Gilbreath on 91.3 KBCS if I’m home weekday mornings anymore because to turn on the radio is to give them a platform. In better weather, I used to put a speaker outside more. This would diffuse the harassment somehow transmitted onto my tuner and not let the mobbers get away with making me acquiesce to the harassment in my home. It doesn’t take long before they jump onto any exposed surfaces with projected harassment, but the sound of the radio, even outdoors, covers some of that and I can usually muffle it further by breaking or covering surfaces.

Several times, the mobbers have called Seattle Police Department when I’ve done this despite the fact that it was not quiet hours. The purpose was probably to ensure that I couldn’t listen to the radio without listening to the harassment, at least in part, as well as to continue the pattern of clamping down on my rights and squelching my enjoyment of my legal tenancy through the filing of violations. The pattern of violations would probably also be useful to a hostile neighborhood watch that would like to see this house deemed a “nuisance” and forced to sale, hopefully to one of them. One time one of the owners of the mobbing house stood outside on his deck as I told the police officer that the neighbors were putting harassment on my speakers. Within weeks he made me look foolish in court by asking me whether it was true that I told the police such a thing. A few weeks later I found instructions on the Internet making clear that a simple way to harass neighbors in this way is to use CB radio with a linear antenna.

Occasionally I get mail telling me people are trying to reach me. I turn on the cell phone, set the cellular service to on and leave the wireless service off. I ignore the harassment that crops up on the speaker of the phone as I talk to the friend, employer or business contact. If I have to take a streaming meeting or a meeting over a conferencing application or need to see a video, I turn the sound up on the computer and immediately the mobbers jump on board, harassing me on the speaker whenever the microphone on my machine is shut down and exercising caution when the microphone is active.

Noon. I break away to go swimming, usually at a pool in Shoreline, a small community just north of Seattle. If I drive a new car there with a better sound system and better speakers, the harassment is difficult to control. If I leave the radio on, I can turn the volume way down but even with it on mute, the sound seems to be carried from the radio over the ventilation system. In the new car, the wiring of the dash seems to make it impossible to turn off all power to the radio. If I drive an old beater, I try shutting all the heating vents and directing the flow of ventilation at my feet to keep the volume of the harassment low. I’ve tried disabling and removing the antenna but that doesn’t stop the harassment. Lately I’ve considered buying and cutting up a sound baffle and applying it over the speakers and vents in the car. Regardless of whether I use the gym or go swimming, the mobbers jump onto the cell phones of others in the locker room or they use the speakers of the public address system or wireless network. It has seemed that they see me when I’m on the street or at a stop sign. I don’t know if this is from onboard cameras from other vehicles, from the wireless connections on traffic cameras, whether they actually follow me around town or whether they simply pretend they can see based on knowledge of routes and habits. I often leave my cell phone at home and if I bring it to hear music, I leave cell and wireless service off as much as possible.

One of the most interesting parts of going swimming, is the fact that as well as continuing in the dressing area over public address system or others’ cell phones, when I’m swimming I hear the harassment. When I stand in the pool so that my head is out of the water, it is silenced. Today I asked the pool staff if they had underwater speakers because I wanted to rule out that readymade option. They don’t, they said. They said the speakers suspended high over the pool are for out-of-water exercise.

Once I began to understand that there is a radio band for everything, I had thought that a band used for submarines or underwater might be a possibility. I also wondered if the mobbers had to be at the pool hitting some water line or circulating pump with a focused beam of harassment from a parametric speaker. I’ve learned that there are underwater radios people use, that employ bone conduction to send sound to the person who wears the headphones, but I haven’t seen people obviously using radios in the pool. Moreover, when people are close to me in the pool, in other words, if everyone is splitting lanes and there are swimmers in the half-lanes on either side of me, the harassment is quieted. I had thought that, perhaps if they used a drone to project harassment that followed me through the building roof, they might pause the harassment when others got close enough to me so that they might hear what I hear. But today I wondered if swimmers close to me break up the wave forms of the sound so that the sound cannot be heard. At any rate, I don’t understand enough about sound under water to have a theory about how this works.

The pool I swim at in Shoreline is soon closing for maintenance for a period of months. It will be interesting to see how the harassment plays at one of the pools further north that I’ll probably begin swimming at. In the past, when I’ve used other swimming pools, the effects have varied depending on structure of the facility, its network and public address systems, the number of people who use it and whether they have cell phones with them.

Ventilated harassment is also a prominent theme, with a ventilation duct of one of the mobbing houses having been raised up to a height that directs sound right into the middle of the half-light of my kitchen door. I intended to get a piece of plywood today and nail it in place as an obstacle between the vent and the surface of my kitchen door window but instead got involved with writing this post. Perhaps tomorrow. In summer there are other opportunities for vented harassment from open windows and curiously slow circulating fans, particularly from the mobbing house to the south. I’ve also started wondering about the capabilities of the overhanging outdoor shades and multi-level verandas on the mobbing houses, as well as the frequently left open garage door of one mobbing house. But basically, the countermeasures seem to be the same: Breaking surfaces, applying sound board, diffusing harassment or blotting it out with louder music, having people around to create potential witnesses for the mobbers to avoid, or setting up a fan of my own on exhaust to counteract the harassment “stream” from the window of an upper floor of one of the mobbing houses. Although I haven’t had the resources to investigate it, I think I remember reading online that another way to thwart surface sound harassment involved the application of an opposing vibrating force to the window pane. I recently also added exterior plywood sheets to provide overnight cover to windows sound-boarded from inside the house. Soundboard would fall apart outside in rainy or damp conditions but the rain makes the plywood soft and that should make the surface absorb the sound. That made a big difference. I would probably have better results if I put the sheets flat against the house, but that would stop this damp northwestern house from breathing.

This is the way that I spend most of the day at home now, stacking sound board against projected harassment and rarely turning on the radio or listening to movies as I work since it increases the level of the harassment. I got the Century Link DVR service but am not confident that this records from whatever is transmitted over my tuner rather than straight out of the airwaves. I would imagine the easiest way to implement DVR for a wireless TV service might be to just create a marker or stub for each of the shows a person says they want to record, until the allocated “space” is exceeded by size of all of the shows. Recording doesn’t even have to occur.  At any rate, the mobbers don’t seem to pay much attention to it when I select the record option. It’s possible they pay for attention to it and that it modulates the harassment if I’m watching a local station. Sometimes I set a recorder with a microphone in front of the TV speakers and they modulate themselves a bit. But if I were to listen to the recordings I’ve made, I wouldn’t even know if I had anything, because I would be harassed during the playback. Not to mention the fact that as a mobbing victim trying to keep a job and a roof over her head while she attempts to expose the crime, I’ve got my hands full. I figure that if anyone is going to listen to my recordings, or is able to listen to the sound crossing the TV tuner, it should be an investigator who can listen from a place where they can isolate the harassment on my devices from the harassment in my environment. There’s variation in effect and sound and the volume can be modulated by turning devices down or off or by stacking sound board. It should be clear that what is happening to me is happening in the real world, even though the mobbers would like their victims to believe yet another hoax that “it’s all in their heads” and flee in a panic.

3:00 pm: It stops raining and go out to get a bit of gardening in before dark. As soon as I step out on the deck, I’m followed with speaker harassment.

I killed your cat!

What you did to that kid!

I yawn and put on my gardening gloves. The harassment follows me around the yard.

Get out!

You’re the wrong demographic!

Last summer I found that if I held the garden hose high in front of my face, the harassment, which must have been directional, was silenced. Standing in the shelter of a tree or tall shrub has also been effective. On a fairly frequent basis, the captain of the neighborhood watch comes out of her house and throws things around on her front porch or makes a big show of gardening the plants that don’t exist on her parking strip. She is often accompanied by the residents of one or both of the houses on either side of me who suddenly find reason to open their garages, vacuum their decks or cars, or hammer some boards on the side of their homes. The harassment pauses whenever a police car is nearby or when people walk by on their way to the Burke-Gilman.

Between the physical labor, the kind people who walk by, the wild and migrating birds and the feel of the air on my skin, I usually feel complete after working in the garden. Some days, however, the stress never clears as I dodge insults, threats and demands from multiple directions. I don’t let it control me but am mindful of possible violence from mobbers who may be increasingly nervous about the possibility of my getting an investigation. I look over my shoulder when I walk down the street to the mailbox. I stand behind my car when I water. I seldom work in the front of the garden without parking a vehicle at the end of the driveway since the time a neighborhood watch captain drove her vehicle straight at me, so fast that her daughter braced herself against the dashboard when her mother hit the brakes a few feet before hitting me.

Working in the garden has been an act of resistance for some time. A garden is a place of care and cultivation. Planting and tending a garden as criminal profiteers try to harass me out of my home has seemed all along to be a way to create meaning in the midst of ugly circumstances.

6:00 pm: Back in the kitchen for more harassment and dinner. Turning on the evening news and checking to see if any films are on that I want to see with overlapping harassment. Closed captioning would be a possibility, I suppose, but why bother. I prefer to listen to the sound of the language even with foreign films where I have to read the subtitles. I go out on the deck and grill a piece of salmon. As I walk back into the house, a parting shot:

Get out!

 

 

Leave a Reply

