Citizens Band neighborhood networks

I began to write notes for this topic in early December, while listening to a recording of President Roosevelt’s first Fireside Chat on March 12, 1933. As soon as I turned up the volume to the crackling transmission of FDR addressing the American people about the actions that would be necessary to respond to the banking crisis, a female voice spoke over his. “Get out! Get out!” she said, again and again.

This is how I live here in my northeast Seattle neighborhood with captains of the neighborhood watch within houses of me.

I noted the source of the harassment as being the speakers of my computer, on the Internet over Ethernet and a Century Link modem. That night, the harassment was most likely the woman with long dark hair I’d seen getting into a familiar Mazda SUV when I brought in the Christmas tree. Otherwise, it was likely the girlfriend of the owner of the other mobbing house, the one who seemed to take to the “queen bee” role in the mobbing but these days mostly stays out of sight. Either way, the voice was familiar to me from its participation in the mobbing.

But beyond the documentation I keep in anticipation of an investigation by police authorities, the criminals who call themselves “mobbers” as they attempt to harass me out of my home are of little interest to me. Now, weeks later, let’s get back to our own fireside chat.

λ

Radio is ubiquitous. So much so that when the harassing voices of the mobbers first appeared on my Proton radio alarm clock at the opening of the mobbing, it never occurred to me that all they needed was radio technology in order to transmit their voices onto my radio. It took nearly two years before I came across mention on the web of an easy technique using Citizens Band (CB) radio and a linear antenna to maliciously put sound on neighbors’ speakers. I haven’t written about it in detail yet, but hopefully I will soon, in a more extensive post on radio.

FDR took up radio as a method to communicate directly with the American public during the years of the Great Depression, years of homeless and hunger.

In neighborhoods where mobbing is suspected, good neighbors might also consider taking up radio, CB radio to be exact.

I haven’t yet tested my theory by completing programming of the Uniden scanner I purchased—I’ve been trying to get enough useful documentation of the crime itself on this blog so getting the radio set up has been on the back burner. But if the mobbers are using CB radio with a linear antenna to project sound onto speakers, it’s possible that anyone within range can use a scanner to hear it.

If you’re my neighbor, one of the good ones, or if you’re a good neighbor concerned that someone is doing this to others in your own neighborhood, consider setting up a community radio network. You could scan broadcasts to listen for any broadcast close by. The scanner I purchased has a feature that can automatically search for nearby broadcasts, as well as a feature that will save at least short segments of the broadcasts found to on-board memory. Hook the scanner up to a laptop with one of the applications written to make programming easy, and you can program from and save to the laptop. Start with Citizens Band, which apparently does not require a license to broadcast. This would make the Citizens Band attractive to mobbers. No license, no trace.

NOTE: There is apparently a Family Band that does not require licensing to use. If others experiencing radio-based harassment want to try setting up a scanner to legally listen and record nearby broadcasts, you’ll probably need to use the close call functionality of the scanner to check multiple bands.

λ

In the last weeks, I’ve also been learning a bit about software-defined radio (SDR), something which I’ve read that hackers are highly interested in. Turns out that with a “soft” radio, the only device you need these days is a processor. What’s more, it looks like, depending on the implementation, you can get one for next to nothing. I have one priced at about $20 on order from Amazon.com. Not sure exactly what you can transmit using SDR, but it looks like you can use a single software-defined radio to access most bands, including WiFi, Bluetooth, the aerial band used by planes, and more. And once you’re working from a computer, it’s easy to transfer information back and forth between the radio application and streaming applications, which could be pretty handy as a format used to send harassment based on their use by music players. Malware installed on the victim device could even silently stream harassment from web locations without downloading it in a manner that would make it available for forensic analysis. I note that this sort of thing would be most likely to occur on devices with WiFi always On. Finally packet information could also easily be shared between the radio application and packet sniffers like WireShark that can be used to silently lurk and steal information. This would be a handy way to record calls and even to replay them to the victim.

Early on in the mobbing my own mobbers insisted that they record nothing. It seemed a way to let me know that any search conducted on their premises would turn up nothing, that there would be no forensic evidence. As the mobbing progressed and I realized that it was possible for them to eavesdrop and to harass without physically planting devices in my home, it made sense to me that they would not record. After all, if you’re hired by people with money, you’re probably being hired because you can do the job without them, or you, getting caught. But it’s also possible, especially given the fact that I’ve heard bits of phone calls or conversations played back to me, that that was a lie to get me to give up, and give in. I note they also insisted early on that they had “all” of the email I ever written, which would be something of a recording.

Back to radio, there are a lot of videos on YouTube on SDR. Listen to a few of them and it will be clear just how far behind the game law enforcement is when it comes to technology. A lot of the reason why I have to research these things is to help the police to help me. Of course, if I could compile a software-defined radio that would only accept signals from NPR, maybe I could listen to The Moth without having the scumbucket criminals who hole up nearby putting harassment over my favorite show. If there might only be a way to use software-defined radio without being on the Internet, anyway.

λ

But back to neighborhood radio networks, if everyone on your block had a scanner programmed to pick up nearby broadcasts, that is, if everyone had access to the means of communication that mobbers might use to harass their victims, we could shut down at least some types of radio harassment. Perhaps police departments, including the Seattle Police, could even set up community radio stations in neighborhoods where people, like me, complain of racketeering and other felonies. The mobbers can’t monitor everyone.

Cheers.

 

Leave a Reply

