Pay the piper

The United Nations names “real estate mobbing” as a form of “forced eviction.” Amnesty International says it is a violation of Human Rights. No matter whether residential “mobbing” is done to turn over properties for speculation or whether it’s a brutal method of expelling someone from a community where lynching is just too gauche, residential mobbing is a crime. And it is with this firm belief that I say that those who mob or support mobbing should be subject to severe penalties.

There appears to be some awareness of real estate mobbing across Europe, particularly in Spain. Workforce mobbing is well known in Europe and there is a general awareness of it in academic communities in Canada and the United States. But the crime of residential mobbing seems little known and it is difficult to find information on it.

I have been living in a residential mobbing situation for about seventeen months now and it probably took at least nine months before I began to put it together. I can’t say that I’m certain of everything, but I’m fairly confident of some part of what “mobbing” is.

I’ve remained in this situation, in my legal home “enjoying” a valid contract with my landlords, because to be “mobbed” out of my home–for anyone to be “mobbed” out of home, is against my every principle. Forced (illegal) eviction is “immoral,” and it is against civil law. It harkens back to Nazism, to pogroms, diaspora and genocide, and to fascism.

What I’ve learned about “mobbing” has cost me. I will never get back a single moment of the solitude, the quiet of being of oneself, unto oneself, that this crime has stolen from me, probably for several years since it undoubtedly included months of watching me and preparing. I will never forgive the invasions of privacy and the disregard with which my life has been mined for information that could be used to manipulate, blackmail, or coerce me into abandoning a legal tenancy. And though I have not yet talked about it here, I will never forgive having been monitored and stalked through the last months of my cat’s life or for the stress it imposed on my cat that likely contributed to the circumstances of her death. Nor the fact that it is likely that these crimes against me, and effectively against those with whom I am in relationship, have likely been callously committed to make a profit by at least some of those involved. And over the months of my virtual incarceration in and out of my own home, I’ve arrived at specific goals for the resolution of this matter. They are as follows:

  • An investigation into the unethical conduct of those in the neighborhood watch in my neighborhood that was instrumental in setting me and this property up for a “property mob.” By that, I mean to say that I haven’t spent the last seventeen months being constantly monitored and harassed in my home and stalked and harassed outside of it for nothing. I want an investigation that is productive and leads to the arrests of key participants.
  • To bring residential “mobbing” into the awareness of the community and police authorities. The signs of residential mobbing should be recognizable to the police. The signs of mobbing should also be known to neighborhood organizations and information should be available on the Internet that helps victims of mobbing to recognize the phenomenon. I would hope that the information I’m trying to map out in this blog can be a useful resource.
  • As much as possible should be done to discourage mobbing as a way of acquiring property or as a way of making any kind of profit, whether as “tenant clearers” who perform a “service” for real estate investors and speculators, neighbors who decide that “mobbing” sounds like a cool way to get that extra few feet of land to enlarge their decks, or “mobbers” who hire themselves out to nasty neighborhood watch associations out to punish disfavored members of the community.

Finally, those who “mob” or support “mobbing” should be severely punished. Privacy is a basic human right and while it is culturally coded to some degree, it is almost certainly inhumane to be stripped of all privacy. In mobbing, one of the most important aspects of the harassment is to let you know that you are never alone, not in the shower or bed, and not in your mind.

Whether and how much mobbers see and how much of their “seeing” is a hoax based on highly skilled eavesdropping using shotgun or other extremely sensitive microphones is something I’m not yet sure of. But I have concluded that an essential component of “mobbing” someone out of their home is making them feel certain that they are being watched, legally “monitored,” every second, minute and hour of every day. This is what I have endured for seventeen months and there was likely a significant period of watching me to gather information before the mobbers let me know that they were watching me.

The constant harassment of mobbing plays a crucial role in the eviction–it is with speech that the mobbers convince you that you are being watched. This alone is probably enough to get people packing and out the door, especially when the performance piece of the mobbers includes a “slip” designed to let you know you’re being watched one day when, blissfully unaware, you’re twiddling your thumbs on the pot. If those things don’t work, the mobbers have a never-ending menu of hoaxes, taunts, threats and blackmail to go along with a rich repertoire of privacy invasions.

Mobbing is an assault, and while I’m not given to the metaphorical use of the “R” word, it sure feels like rape. Legally speaking, I believe it constitutes a form of domestic terrorism as well as a pretty comprehensive collection of felonies. You could also call it a grievous assault or attempted murder. It’s probably not much different. As for being constantly pelted with insults, taunts and other harassments in and out of sleep, and as to the deliberate sleep deprivation, these things probably amount to torture.

This is why residential mobbing should be recognized as a crime deserving of severe penalties.

For all these reasons, I believe that the City of Seattle and any city in which mobbing occurs should sue those who conspire to mob or commit mobbing. This makes sense because mobbing is an assault to the community at large and exposes local government to financial and legal liabilities. Neighborhood groups that abuse their duty to act in the interests of all residents break the trust not only of residents but of the city. I further believe that in addition to prosecuting mobbers for each and every one of the felonies they commit or enable or contribute to, that “mobbing houses,” houses from which mobbers work, should be seized. Claims of ignorance on the part of the owner should be discarded as meaningless. Mobbing is enabled by proximity. Giving access to a victim by taking criminals into your home is criminal. It is fitting that the penalty for attempting to “mob” someone out of their home should be the loss of home.

Leave a Reply

